While it may not be overly concerning to some to know the Chinese Pinyin names of acupuncture points, especially amongst the heaps of information that us acupuncture students already have to know – I would like to at least emphasize how beneficial it can be to know point names beyond their numerical identity. Point location and energetics are in-depth subjects all on their own and require hours, and then we realize even years of study and practice in order to really know. It can often be overwhelming. To have to throw the Pinyin names of acupuncture points on top of that may be a lot to ask, however, knowing the names can also be an incredible tool in supporting the knowledge of point location and energetics.

The name says a lot – and it says a whole lot more than the number. The name can describe the anatomical point location, the actions and indications of needling the point itself, and often carries a story or a particular quality that gives the point more substance or a sense of character and vitality. When I needle a patient I’m not just needling a number. My patient has a name and so do the points that I use to treat them. I like to try and remember the point names every time I use them in a treatment plan and I like to understand how their names apply to my patient’s diagnosis.

I may never be able to write in Chinese character, but I figure that the least I can do in order to respect this medicine is to try and remember and use the Pinyin names as much as possible. Most often a name speaks a thousand words, just like a picture. I’d like to say that it’s also about just wanting to get a little bit closer and more intimate with the medicine.

Here’s a fascinating read to aid this process:

“Grasping the Wind: An exploration into the meaning of Chinese acupuncture points names” by Andrew Ellis, Nigel Wiseman, and Ken Boss

Available at the Pacific Rim College bookstore for $37.95

Enjoy!